top of page

[VIDEO] Crete – Under the Grecian Sun, a Romantic Food & Travel Journey


Awhile back I was invited on a trip to the delicious Greek island of Crete, which is where the research for the Mediterranean Diet originated. As a lifestyle journalist (food-travel-wellness) and an independent filmmaker, I join a small group of print journalist. During my visit I was delighted to experience, first-hand, farm-to-table Mediterranean cuisine, the culture, ancient history, village life and the warm, friendly people. The fact that Crete is the island where the Mediterranean Diet’s longevity research took place was extra special for me as I enjoy researching how food and lifestyle affects one’s well-being. A 15-year research study, started in the late 1950’s, was called the Seven Countries Study. It confirmed that Cretan villagers had the lowest heart disease rate in the world giving the Mediterranean Diet its gold standard. When I returned back home, I thought what I experienced in Crete shouldn’t be limited to just an online video blog/article, but rather expanded into what has become Crete – Under the Grecian Sun, A Romantic Culinary-Travel Journey with The Goddess and the Greek®.

The Goddess and the Greek® ©RomancingTheTable.com and CelebrateGreece.com. All Rights Reserved.


Enjoying the Minoan Palace of Knossos in Crete ©RomancingTheTable.com and CelebrateGreece.com. All Rights Reserved. I am an Italian-Greek American with an acting and improvisational comedy background. I also have experience as a freelance lifestyle journalist covering arts and entertainment, food, travel, cultures, well-being and Eco-living. In addition, I authored a national book Diary of A Modern Day Goddess, a lighthearted wellness book for nurturing one’s body, mind and soul. My background helped me to explore the many aspects of Crete and often with a lighthearted touch, from talking with Greek yiayias (grandmothers) in the kitchen, rolling domalthes (stuffed grape leaves), Greek dancing in circles, hanging out in the dirt with archaeologists and much more, all without a script!


Cynthia smiling after talking horta with a real Cretan Yiayia. ©RomancingTheTable.com and CelebrateGreece.com. All Rights Reserved.

Like all good heroic journeys there have been challenges along the way toward completing this documentary. One of the challenges was when my beloved husband James (A Greek-American; founder of CelebrateGreece.com) was eventually diagnosed with an environmental illness. Gratefully, he is now on the mend through the help of continuous prayer, a great environmental medical doctor and our following an eco-lifestyle that avoids toxins and includes eating the anti-inflammatory Mediterranean Diet. I thank everyone for their prayers and good wishes. Fortunately, I love to cook and James loves to eat! We often call ourselves The Goddess (me-Cynthia) and The Greek (my husband James) and with my Greek god doing much better now, I am able to return to my creative work. As I mentioned above, I am now seeking your help in finishing and getting the word out for this beautiful and inspiring documentary Crete: Under the Grecian Sun. For your contribution you will be able to choose from the many Perks (contribution gifts), some which include your very own copy (DVD or online digital viewing) of Crete: Under the Grecian Sun to help you create your own Goddess and the Greek® moments at home, even if you’re not Greek!


An exquisite Greek salad (©MMXVI RomancingTheTable.com and CelebrateGreece.com) The Goddess and the Greek® invite you to Celebrate Greece’s BIG island, CRETE!

bottom of page